OPEN LETTER FROM A BIPARTISAN GROUP OF FORMER LAWMAKERS TO THE SPEAKER AND THE PRESIDENT REGARDING THE PROPOSED FENCE AT THE COLORADO STATE CAPITOL

March 18, 2021

Dear Mr. Speaker and Mr. President:

On March 17, the Denver Post reported plans to erect a permanent wrought iron fence around the Colorado capitol building. The undersigned, a bipartisan group of former Colorado legislators, urges you to reconsider the substantive and symbolic impact of placing a permanent fence around the People's house.

Having worked in the building, we understand the importance of measures to protect the members, staff, and visitors while on the Capitol grounds.

We also understand that in times of heightened security concerns, temporary measures may need to be taken that insulate the capitol from the rest of the city.

But these considerations must be balanced with the fact that ours is a free and representative government, and physical barriers between people and the leaders they elect sends the wrong message.

We further recognize that the right of peaceful protest is fundamental. We in no way endorse the acts of vandalism directed at the Capitol last summer, but neither can we support using those events to justify measures that would limit and restrict future peaceful gatherings and protests on the Capitol grounds.

If a permanent fence is put around the Capitol, Colorado will have lost something special: a deep and abiding connection between its people and their government.

Thank you for your consideration.

Respectfully,

Speaker Terrance Carroll	President Kevin Grantham	Governor Bill Owens
Speaker Frank McNulty	President Peter Groff	Governor Dick Lamm
Senator Ken Chlouber	President John Andrews	Secretary of State Bernie Buescher
Senator Larry Crowder	Senator Dan Grossman	Secretary of State Gigi Dennis
Representative Frank DeFilippo	Senator Lucia Guzman	Treasurer Mark Hillman
Senator Cheri Jahn	Senator Bob Hagedorn	Senator Mike Feeley
Representative Bill Jerke	Senator Norma Anderson	Senator Tim Foster
Senator Mike Johnston	Representative Debbie Benefield	Representative Dorothy Gotlieb
Senator Andy Kerr	Senator Tom Blickensderfer	Senator Josh Penry
Representative Matt Knoedler	Senator Greg Brophy	Senator Jim Rizzuto
Representative Rosemary Marshall	Representative Amy Stephens	Representative Christine Scanlan
Representative Carl Miller	Representative Cole Wist	Representative Kathleen Curry
Representative BJ Nikkel	Representative Rob Witwer	Senator Laura Woods